Best GIC rates in Canada
Every rate is re-verified each month against the issuer's own posted page. Pick a term to sort the table, or go straight to the page for your term or province.
What are the best GIC rates in Canada right now?
WealthONE Bank of Canada pays the most over five years at 4.50%, and MCAN Wealth the most over one year at 3.90%. The table below holds every rate we track for all 28 issuers, sorted by the term you pick.
| # | Institution | 1 year | 2 year | 3 year | 5 year | Calculate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | WealthONE Bank of CanadaCDIC · $1,000 min | 3.80% | 4.25% | 4.40% | 4.50% | Run itwealthonebankofcanada.com |
| 02 | Oaken FinancialCDIC · $1,000 min | 3.80% | 4.05% | 4.20% | 4.40% | Run itoaken.com |
| 03 | MCAN WealthCDIC · $100 min | 3.90% | 4.20% | 4.30% | 4.35% | Run itmcanfinancial.com |
| 04 | Saven FinancialFSRA · $1,000 min | 3.70% | 3.95% | 4.10% | 4.35% | Run itsavenfinancial.ca |
| 05 | EQ BankCDIC · no minimum posted | 3.70% | 3.85% | 4.10% | 4.25% | Run iteqbank.ca |
| 06 | TangerineCDIC · no minimum posted | 3.50% | 3.85% | 4.00% | 4.15% | Run ittangerine.ca |
| 07 | Achieva FinancialDGCM · $1,000 min | 3.65% | 3.75% | 3.95% | 4.10% | Run itachieva.mb.ca |
| 08 | Meridian Credit UnionFSRA · $100 min · compounding not stated | 3.20% | 3.70% | 4.00% | 4.10% | Run itmeridiancu.ca |
| 09 | Northern Credit UnionFSRA · $1,000 min · compounding not stated | 3.20% | 3.55% | 3.70% | 4.10% | Run itnortherncu.com |
| 10 | National Bank of CanadaCDIC · $500 min | 3.30% | 3.65% | 3.25% | 4.00% | Run itnbc.ca |
| 11 | Kindred Credit UnionFSRA · $500 min · compounding not stated | 3.10% | 3.30% | 3.75% | 4.00% | Run itrates.kindredcu.com |
| 12 | Tru Cooperative BankCDIC · $500 min | 3.36% | 3.66% | 3.76% | 3.86% | Run ittrucooperativebank.ca |
| 13 | DUCA Credit UnionFSRA · $500 min | 3.20% | 3.70% | 3.70% | 3.85% | Run itduca.com |
| 14 | Beem Credit UnionCUDIC · $500 min · compounding not stated | 3.30% | 3.45% | 3.60% | 3.80% | Run itbeemcreditunion.ca |
| 15 | FirstOntario Credit UnionFSRA · $1,000 min · compounding not stated | 3.35% | 3.60% | 3.70% | 3.80% | Run itfirstontario.com |
| 16 | Coast Capital SavingsCDIC · $500 min | 3.10% | 3.50% | 3.50% | 3.80% | Run itcoastcapitalsavings.com |
| 17 | VancityCUDIC · $500 min | 3.10% | 3.40% | 3.65% | 3.70% | Run itvancity.com |
| 18 | Simplii FinancialCDIC · $100 min | 2.90% | 3.00% | 3.20% | 3.65% | Run itsimplii.com |
| 19 | TD BankCDIC · no minimum posted | 3.00% | 3.20% | 3.30% | 3.55% | Run ittd.com |
| 20 | BMOCDIC · $1,000 min | 3.00% | 3.20% | 3.30% | 3.55% | Run itbmo.com |
| 21 | Libro Credit UnionFSRA · $1,000 min | 3.15% | 3.25% | 3.35% | 3.50% | Run itlibro.ca |
| 22 | ATB FinancialGovernment of Alberta · $1,000 min · compounding not stated | 3.00% | 3.00% | 3.00% | 3.35% | Run itatb.com |
| 23 | Alterna SavingsFSRA · $500 min | 2.65% | 2.85% | 3.10% | 3.30% | Run italterna.ca |
| 24 | Tandia Financial Credit UnionFSRA · $500 min | 2.65% | 2.85% | 3.10% | 3.30% | Run ittandia.com |
| 25 | Servus Credit UnionCUDGC · $1,000 min | 2.70% | 2.75% | 2.85% | 3.10% | Run itservus.ca |
| 26 | RBC Royal BankCDIC · no minimum posted | 2.45% | 2.55% | 2.55% | 2.75% | Run itrbcroyalbank.com |
| 27 | ScotiabankCDIC · no minimum posted | 2.45% | 2.50% | 2.60% | 2.75% | Run itscotiabank.com |
| 28 | CIBCCDIC · $1,000 min | 2.45% | 2.55% | 2.60% | 2.75% | Run itcibc.com |
How much does choosing the wrong GIC cost?
$5,045 in interest on a $50,000 five-year GIC, which is the gap between WealthONE Bank of Canada at 4.50% and CIBC at 2.75% — 1.75 points. Same term, same lock-in.
Are GICs insured in Canada?
Yes. Every issuer in this table is covered by CDIC or by its province's guarantee, and which one applies depends on the regulator rather than on the rate.
How are these GIC rates verified?
Each rate is read by hand from the institution's own posted rate page, once a month, and linked back to the page it came from. The procedure, in full:
Which GIC rate page should I read for my term or province?
The one matching the term you will actually hold, or the province you bank in. Each page has its own table and its own leader, and a credit union GIC in Ontario is not covered by the same scheme as one in Manitoba.
Put these rates through the calculator
A rate is not an answer. Enter your amount and see what it pays once compounding applies.
Where can I see historical GIC rates?
On the rate history page. We archive the table each refresh rather than overwriting it, so you can see where rates have been, not only where they are. Published under CC BY with Dataset markup.
See rate historyGet next month's rates by email
One email a month with the best verified rate for every term, read off 28 issuers' own pages the same way every rate on this site is.